Photosub Annual Meal – 2022

Following many years at the Farnham House Hotel, changes in the catering arrangements prompted a move of venue to the Cranleigh Golf & Country Club for the 2022 Photosub Annual Meal. The club is set in the Surrey Hills and offers a superb barn restaurant with top quality food and a separate room “The Snug” ideal for presenting the competition images. The club staff were excellent and the food was greatly enjoyed by all with many very positive comments from club members on the suitability and quality of venue.  

The event was attended by 25 club members plus our guest judge Trevor Rees and his wife Caroline. The three course meal was preceded by socialising, a novel experience following the many months of zoom meetings during the Covid pandemic.

Following the meal the Annual Competition images were projected. The competition comprised the usual 4 categories with a total of 109 images submitted by 14 members. Due to a lack of diving in 2021, images from up to 5 years previous were eligible.

  1. Green Water Macro/Close Up (22 entries)
  2. Green Water Wide (24 entries)
  3. Blue Water Macro/Close Up (35 entries)
  4. Blue Water Wide (28 entries)

The Print Competition category was cancelled due to logistical issues. 

Our competition judge was Trevor Rees who is well known to many club members particularly through BSOUP. Trevor is a highly accomplished and well respected underwater photographer with many competition wins to his name. Images were provided to Trevor ahead of the event to allow him to review at his leisure and by attending the meal Trevor was able to provide feedback on his choice of images.

The competition results were as follows (C=Commended, HC = Highly Commended):

Green Water Macro/Closeup

1st Gill Marsh

2nd Rob White

3rd Martyn Guess

HC Joss Woolf

C Keith Lyall

C Chris McTernan

Green Water Wide Angle

1st Pash Baker

2nd Rob White

3rd Nur Tucker

HC Nur Tucker

C Nur Tucker

Blue Water Macro/Closeup

1st Martyn Guess

2nd Keith Lyall

3rd Roger Eve

HC Nur Tucker

C Mike Davidge

Blue Water Wide Angle

1st Martyn Guess

2nd Nur Tucker

3rd Martyn Guess

HC Pash Baker

C Martyn Guess

C Pash Baker

Len Deeley Trophy

Following the death 6 years ago of club founder and driving force Len Deeley, a new trophy was created by Pash Baker and Jo Horrocks in memory of Len. This trophy is presented on a yearly basis at the club annual dinner. It has been classed as a “floating trophy” and while on some occasions it will be presented based on a competitive basis defined by the committee, on others it will be presented to a club member or couple who have supported the club and promoted its aims and goals.

Club Chair Joss Woolf introduced this years recipients, Keith Lyall & Jo Horrocks. Keith & Jo have been members of the club for over 17 years and are regular attendees at club events, often hosting meetings at their home in Cranleigh and particularly helped Martyn and Sue Guess to host the 2021 BBQ Meal. Keith is a previous chairperson of the club and has been the Club Competition Secretary and web master for the past 6 years. The Len Deeley award recognises their support and contribution to the successful running of the club.


These events do not run successfully without the help of a number of club members and thanks go to:

  • Trevor & Caroline Rees for attending the evening and for Trevor’s judging and comments during the results presentation.
  • Keith Lyall for organising the venue and engaging with the club event & restaurant staff to plan the evening.
  • Pat Deeley for providing the place cards.
  • Pat Deeley & Ann El Mahjoub for bringing the projection screen. 
  • Martha for managing the meeting finances and collection of payment.
  • Roger for providing all event communication.
  • Keith for organising and running the club competition.
  • Joss for providing the evening introductions, thanks and collection of the flowers
  • The Photosub Committee (Joss, Martha, Roger & Keith) for the numerous emails and occasion call to organise the event.

Finally thanks to all who who entered and congratulations to all winners.